3 steps on how to love your dark skin within the black community: “love yourself” they said, “because if you don’t, no one else will”

Who on earth said those word? Because honestly, it is easier said than done. How do you even start loving yourself?

Elle Aptitude
5 min readFeb 12, 2021
Black skin is beautiful and self-acceptance is powerful.

Love. Four letters, one syllable. Yet, it is the most powerful verb ever existed. Every single human being’s sole purpose on earth is to feel loved. Either from family members, friends, lovers, acquittances and even strangers. Everyone wants to find that one person that completes them. Everyone wants to find that unconditional love. But how can you love someone else when you don’t even know how to love yourself? When you don’t even know how to love your own skin tone?

I grew up from a household that believed a lighter skin complexion was prettier, sexier, attractive and overall, much more appreciated. I grew up listening to a specific song played everywhere on News Year's day and it went along the lines of “oyo a teli tse, akolia bonne anne tse” when translated in English, simply means “whoever has not lightened their skin, will not celebrate New Year”. These words have stuck with me throughout my childhood and adolescence and I wonder if I will ever be able to forget these lyrics.

--

--

Elle Aptitude

I write my story based on the conversations I have with the people I meet and my own reality. There is always truth in what you read.